UKC

Touring bindings

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
MacKnee 05 Nov 2014
Does anyone have experience of the Ambition 12 ski touring binding which is made by Tyrolia but also marketed as Head and Fischer?

http://www.tyrolia.com/en/ski-bindings/aaa-series/aaambition-10.html

It seems a step forward from previous frame bindings but is it robust?
 AdrianC 05 Nov 2014
In reply to MacKnee:

Well I have no experience of these bindings and they may be just fine. Having said that, they remind me very strongly of the Naxo bindings which now seem have left the AT binding gene pool. And oddly enough a short search revealed Lou Dawson's comment that a previous Tyrolia binding had some Naxo-like features. So I can't answer your question but I'd certainly share the concern if I was contemplating buying them.
Removed User 05 Nov 2014
In reply to MacKnee:

Most new ski touring products have teething issues. If this is the first year that they're selling them it's probably wise to give them a bit of time to sort the design flaws out.
 Ben Briggs 05 Nov 2014
In reply to MacKnee:

There are a lot of exciting new touring bindings around at the moment..... That is not one of them.
MacKnee 05 Nov 2014
In reply to AdrianC:

I'm always happy to listen to Lou but the Tyrolia TRB binding in question was made in 1982.
MacKnee 05 Nov 2014
In reply to Ben Briggs:
> There are a lot of exciting new touring bindings around at the moment..... That is not one of them.