UKC

Training for a 330km ride

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kimono 15 Nov 2014
I am facing this prospect in two weeks but have never done such a distance before.
I am in pretty good shape however, and a few weeks back, completed a tour which had a couple of 170km days in.

So, how much harder will almost twice the distance be? And do i need to train specifically?
Any advice gratefully received.

ps and if anyone mentions 'intervals' could you please explain exactly what i should do? (fairly new to cycling)

ops it will also be bloody hot as am in the Caribbean, but am kind of used to that
 VS4b 15 Nov 2014
In reply to Kimono:
I don't think you can do much training on endurance in just two weeks. I'm no expert but have done 280km twice this year and would advise: ride well within yourself (1mph off your normal steady) find someone to do it with and have a good chat to pass the time, eat regularly and try to eat proper food for as long as poss before resorting to gels at the latter stages. Have fun.
 Brass Nipples 15 Nov 2014
In reply to Kimono:

Depends, do you need to ride it in a specified time? If you had to ride it in 10 hours that is different to having all day to do it.

OP Kimono 15 Nov 2014
In reply to Orgsm:

> Depends, do you need to ride it in a specified time? If you had to ride it in 10 hours that is different to having all day to do it.

Well, days are shortish right now, even here. But we should have 12 hours of light so time is ok.
OP Kimono 15 Nov 2014
In reply to VS4b:

> I don't think you can do much training on endurance in just two weeks. I'm no expert but have done 280km twice this year and would advise: ride well within yourself (1mph off your normal steady) find someone to do it with and have a good chat to pass the time, eat regularly and try to eat proper food for as long as poss before resorting to gels at the latter stages. Have fun.