UKC

iphone 4s and Strava useage

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Newbuild100 29 Dec 2014
Guys

how many hours usage can you guys get using Strava on your iPhone4s ??

Whilst I'm not an expert with mobile phones, I'm pretty sure all the things that should be switched off when I'm usin
Strava are switched off (i.e., updates to other apps, and all other apps not running etc)
Yesterday, I just managed to get 6 hours before the phone was showing nil battery life !!!

Is this normal ?
If it is, then when I'm out either cycling or walking for longer hours in the next few months, Strava will be useless.
Is it possible to buy batteries for said phone that will last longer ???

Any help would be appreciated
 cfer 29 Dec 2014
In reply to Newbuild100:

I had this problem with my year old 4s, ended up changing battery, but you can save battery with a few things, turn screen brightness down, location services off, push data off and the 3g if you also dont need the internet. there is a also a battery usage bit now in settings to see where the battery is getting hammered.

My new battery was £30 fitted in local shop and has made it like a new phone, you can but cases that have a battery in to use though.
 Indy 29 Dec 2014
In reply to Newbuild100:
Yes, its possible to buy an external battery pack or have one built into a case. Still, depending on what your doing then a Edge might be a better buy especially with some of the deep discounting going on on the low end Garmin Edges

Just had a look and its possible to get a Garmin Edge 200 for less than £75. Thats got to be around the same ballpark price as a phone solution but would be much more rugged with better features AND 15 hours battery life.
Post edited at 13:12
 yorkshireman 29 Dec 2014
In reply to Newbuild100:

Unfortunately GPS is one of the biggest drains going on a mobile phone battery, so fundamentally you're not going to save much in comparison.