UKC

Speed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Richard Smith 11 Jan 2015
I turned 50 in 2014 and decided to learn to ski; which I have now done at the MK Snowzone. I have been cleared to use the main slope but I feel that I am too fast, I track across the slope but as soon as I turn I pick up speed and spend the rest of the time trying to slow down and avoid other skiers, pillars and walls (both of the latter I have visited while learning) .

I try to keep my weight (a lot of it) forward, weight on the down hill ski for turning but it seems to just run away with me, skid sideward, I try to head uphill to control the speed but it's not working. Is it that I am new to the sport and to me just seem to be going fast when in reality I'm not... any suggestions or advise?
 Pete Houghton 11 Jan 2015
In reply to Richard Smith:

Are you certain that your boots are tight enough? You will have next to no control over direction or speed if your shoes don't fit properly.
 AdrianC 11 Jan 2015

Without having seen you ski it's hard to know but my first thought is that it's probably to do with what your upper body is doing. Look up some stuff about contra-rotation of the upper body, hand position (keep your hands up where you can see them ALL the time - don't drop the hand that's on the pole you just planted, etc.)

The idea is that as you complete the turn your chest is still pointing down the slope which brings the skis across the fall line and controls your speed as you exit the turn so you're ready to set up for the next one without having to traverse for miles trying to slow down and dodge the fixtures.
 DaveHK 11 Jan 2015

You gather speed during the portion of the turn that your skis point down (or close to) the fall line. If you are gaining too much speed you may be spending too much time in that position i.e. not making the turn quickly enough or not fully completing the turn.

The things AdrianC says will help with this.
 Potemkin 11 Jan 2015