UKC

Ordinary route Idwal slabs with a novice??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Dylan Driscoll 28 Jan 2015

What are your thoughts on taking a novice on Idwal slabs ordinary route for his first outdoor climb??
He is a competent belayer indoors.
Post edited at 20:01
In reply to Dylan Driscoll:

Not the most ideal place for someone who hasn't climbed outdoors before, especially if it's damp given the slippy descent. Tryfan Bach would be a better idea.
 John Ww 28 Jan 2015

When?
In reply to John Ww:

On a nice warm good weather day
 DerwentDiluted 28 Jan 2015

I took a total beginner aged 12 up this, its a good choice. Only difficulty to be anticipated is on the descent.
 Doug 28 Jan 2015

The climb will be fine, but maybe not the descent...
In reply to Doug:

What is the descent like??
 John Ww 28 Jan 2015

Then not a problem - it's pretty difficult to fall off, even for a beginner.
 spartacus 28 Jan 2015
Multi pitch but should be fine. Pick a nice day, slabs not a pleasant place to be in the rain and you want them to have fun.

I wouldn't if young. Halfway up a sea of slabs can be quite lonely if nervous. Depends on the individual which can only be your call. Take sufficient gear for bail out option. (Abseil).

Decent most dangerous bit. It might be nice to scramble on up continuation ridge to make a mountain day out of it.

DerwentDiluted 28 Jan 2015

Best to recce it first. Its OK but it can be tricky, especially if moist, and confidence may not be instilled if you are 'onsighting' it yourself.
 Chris Murray 28 Jan 2015

There was some tat in situ to ab off the awkward bit of the descent when I was there in September. It could add some interest to the day if your friend is reasonably competent.....or it may be too much for a nervous novice.
Gone for good 28 Jan 2015