UKC

New to hill walking any advise please

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Michelle1981 01 Feb 2015

I am new to hill walking any advise please
Post edited at 19:11
In reply to Michelle1981:

Enjoy!

There are a bunch of clubs out there, so you should be able to meet plenty of people who can give you on-the-spot help and advice. You'll find the clubs generally friendly and really keen to get you on board.

Once you've done the walking bit, start thinking about the climbing...
OP Michelle1981 01 Feb 2015
In reply to Martin not maisie:
Thank you for your message Martin. I have joined a club my first walk is on 22 March it is at Malham/Pen-y-Ghent. Just hope I have the right clothing brought some Craghoppers trousers today and a base layer top too. I like walking but not done hill walking before and fancied doing something new and meeting new people. I looking forward to seeing new places.
Post edited at 19:59
Removed User 01 Feb 2015

Don't know where you live but one thing you can do to prepare is walk your local area in shit weather in your hill gear-nothing like hill walking but should give you some confidence that your gear (boots, jacket etc.) will be up to the job of keeping you warm and dry. Ish.
In reply to Removed Userena sharples:
Hi Ena thank you very much for your message and for the advise. I live in Birmingham not far from Sutton Park and Barr Beacon. That is a good idea to walk in all weather to see if my clothing will be warm a enough before I go up on the hills. Thank you
Post edited at 20:29

Michelle

Having joined a club, the rest should be as easy as putting one foot in front of another....