UKC

Ever climb with one hand tied behind your back?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Happeuss 01 Feb 2015
A couple of days ago I ended up on a rock climbing trip with my local youth club, this was a complete novices day out, but I went along just for fun anyway, I'm looking to do my SPA this year, so I thought it would be a good opportunity to see what it's like, plus it's always nice to touch rock, and it is January so any opportunity to get out is a good opportunity.

Everyone else who was climbing ended up with the first timers jitters, as we all did once, but I shot up everything, I don't really worry about the height I'm at on toprope, and we were on probably a vdiff or an easy sev at most. So people were talking about how it wasn't fair that I was a climber already, so I should do the next one with one hand tied behind my back.

So I had a go, used a prussik loop and carabiner to tie my hand. I tried the harder of the two routes first, I fell about two thirds of the way up it and couldn't get past that move without another hand to use, but I felt the challenge, so I tried the other route, and managed it after a couple of falls trying to start the route.

I was just wondering if anyone else had climbed one handed, and what's the best one handed climb out there?

I'd like try to lead something really easy one handed next time I'm out! Maybe there ought to be a new system of grading for one handed ascents, and another option in the log book on here.
 BrainoverBrawn 01 Feb 2015
In reply to Happeuss:

Placing gear will not happen one handed will it. The crack above the hands free ledge maybe but anywhere else.
In reply to Happeuss: Lol.
I dislocated my shoulder on day 2 of a climbing trip to the US back in '02. After many days watching everyone else climb I finally top-roped a 5.7 at Joshua Tree, (Dog-leg Crack IIRC) one handed. It's therefore highly recommended
 Cake 01 Feb 2015
In reply to Happeuss: