UKC

DOGS - Honister Pass - Lake District

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 01 Feb 2015
To the morons today who let their dog chase a group of Herdwick yows above Honister Pass - HANG YOUR HEADS IN SHAME! And never bring your dog to the Lake District again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 Tony the Blade 01 Feb 2015
In reply to Removed User:

How do you know they're climbers? And moreover that they frequent UKC?

Name and shame I say.
Removed User 01 Feb 2015
In reply to Tony the Blade:

Pretty certain they were not climbers, but this bulletin board gets a lorra hits.

> HANG YOUR HEADS IN SHAME! And never bring your dog to the Lake District again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Couldn't agree more.

I've caught a few dogs at it around the place and unsurprisingly, I'm more than happy to wade in and castigate the owners. Being a vet, I can give chapter and verse on the damage likely to have been done, both immediate and in terms of lambing losses, and I always push for a name and address - most people have some form of ID on them, to cross-check. If it's possible, I'll then trace the farmer to inform them and pass the details on.

I don't know of a single case where the farmer has gone on to make a claim, but I think the full-frontal assault by a pseudo-authoritative figure (me) must have some effect

And as a hint, 'he's never done it before' is client-speak for 'he's bl**dy at it morning, noon at night; I'd stop him, but I'm a fat, useless lump and I'm only going to do something about it if people shout at me'.
Removed User 01 Feb 2015
In reply to Martin not maisie:

It did upset me to see those fine Herdwicks running scared sh_tless about a half mile down the hill in a state of complete fear and panic.
 Ridge 01 Feb 2015

> Pretty certain they were not climbers, but this bulletin board gets a lorra hits.

Thanks Cilla