UKC

What makes this forum so popular?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
chrisbirchall 06 Feb 2015
Hello everyone,

I'm a researcher from the University of Leeds interested in online political conversation. I'm looking for a little bit of help with my latest research project and I'm hoping some of you will be kind enough to spend a couple of minutes to tell me a bit about what you do on this forum.

During the European elections and Scottish referendum last year I did some research into where people were discussing the issues online. Identified through a series of web searches, this discussion forum was one of the most vibrant spaces in the UK for conversation related to the TV debates between party leaders. There are a number of other political topics on the forum, too. I'm really interested to find out why this community of political chatters has developed on this forum. There are lots of available spaces for political conversation online, but there seemed to be more of it going on here than most other places.

So, I'd like to ask you: what makes you come to this space to talk about politics? Is it to do with the community of individuals present on this forum? Or do you contribute to lots of spaces? Is it the website itself: the design or the rules?

I'd be very grateful to any input any of you may have. Any posts to this thread, long or short, would be welcome; emails to me are fine or, spend a few minutes filling in this survey: http://chris.leedsnewmedia.net/surveys/ukclimbing/

All data collected will be anonymised and destroyed after the end of the project. It certainly won't be shared or sold to anyone!

Thanks a lot!

Chris Birchall
Research Associate
School of Media and Communication,
University of Leeds
http://chris.leedsnewmedia.net/surveys/ukclimbing/
 EddInaBox 06 Feb 2015
In reply to chrisbirchall: