UKC

Kettle bells for alpine training?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Dr Avinash Aujayeb 17 Feb 2015
Hi

Anyone use those ? And apart from the "swing", anything else you do? I am wanting more power and endurance in the calves and thighs

Lots of advice online, including books such as the one by Steve House etc which I have read but then I am just an amateur mountaineer/climber

I already do a fair bit of trail running, cycling, indoor climbing, and weights such as clean and jerks etc. i go hiking when I can. I think I have quite a good base, and every now and again prior to a trip, find that I need to up some specific training and been toying with using kettle bells for a little while now.

Thanks

Avi
In reply to Avinash Aujayeb:

cardio cardio cardio. Or, as Don Whillans said - "get fit: go slow"
 Damo 17 Feb 2015

> I am wanting more power and endurance in the calves and thighs

Generally, your quads are much more powerful than your arms and shoulders, so can take more work. This means the arms are a weak link and will tire before your quads, so it's hard to work you quads via your arms. The other stuff you do sounds better.
 Goucho 17 Feb 2015

Is this to get more efficient at cow rustling?
 Rich_cakeboy 18 Feb 2015

Would be useful for general conditioning and bulking up muscle and also might train areas of the body not touched by running/climbing/walking etc.

My first thoughts were these suggestions for Kettle bell uses for alpine training:
Put them in a rucksack and walk up a hill to make it harder
Attach to your harness to simulate gear when training indoors
Get your mate to throw them at you while cragging to simulate dodging falling rocks
 Robert Durran 18 Feb 2015
In reply to Rich_cakeboy:

> Put them in a rucksack and walk up a hill to make it harder
> Get your mate to throw them at you while cragging to simulate dodging falling rocks