UKC

Peroneus Brevis Split

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Scott Anderson 18 Feb 2015
Evening all,

so have been getting a pain in my right foot after walking hard (I walk for a living) or after any climbing, and have had it checked out.

Following an MRI turns out I have about a 2cm tear / split in the peroneus brevis tendon and surgery is required. The consultant has recommended not climbing and cutting back how much time I spend on my feet, and a repair surgery which I'm now on the list for (about 5weeks away).

Ive done a some searching and have read a few reports online regarding healing time and usage afterwards but haven't seen much from any climbers, so just wondering if anyone else on here has had the same op, how long they took to heal and how long was it before they were back out climbing?

Also besides the finger board anyone got any good ideas for staying strong during 6 weeks of non-weight bearing?
In reply to fifth:

Bump
 Rob Naylor 19 Feb 2015
In reply to fifth:

Just typed a long reply and then it vanished into the ether!

I'll type it again when I can, but yes, I had this op and the 6 weeks non weight bearing was just the start. More in a bit.
In reply to Rob Naylor:

Talk about a tease! Ill look forward to your reply Rob!

Cheers in advance for any insight

Scott
 Rob Naylor 20 Feb 2015
In reply to fifth:

Scott,

Sorry it's taken me a while to get back to you.

I had an op on my right ankle in 2010. It wasn't just for a Peroneus Brevis split, though. The main triggers were removal of a Haglund's Spur from my heel, with de-calcification of the inner side of the Achilles tendon and also surgery to create a channel behind my ankle for the Peroneus Longus tendon to run in (it had become dislocated and was riding up onto my ankle).

The Brevis split was (apparently) the most minor of the corrections required....similar to yous I expect: a 2 cm longitudinally in the middle of the tendon.