UKC

ultra advice needed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 misterb 07 Mar 2015
Hi there

I'm doing the race to the stones this year (62.5 miles) and need a bit of advice on the long run regime and how to work out the pace for my weekly long run

I have done a fair bit of running over the years but i only really play at it most of the time

Quick background of my running , 42 min 10k , 1.37 half and 3.30 marathon are best times over the last 10 years

I have done the classic quarter (44 miles) about 5 years ago in 10 hrs 15 but didn't really do proper training for it so not much benefit from that other than knowing how to tough it out a bit

I've been doing abut 35 a week for the last two months just to get back into shape , mostly 6-10 milers between 8 and 9 min/mile pace

Now i want to add in one long run a week of 20 miles + with a view to training up to 36 miles before the race

I have just done 2 long runs so far of 20 and 21 miles at 10.15 (too slow) and 9.15 pace respectively which felt ok but i am unsure really of the pace i should be running as the distance gets longer

I plan to try and complete the race to the stones in 12 hours or below , if you allow 30 mins for water stops and walking all the hard bits (roughly 6 miles) at 15 min/mile that leaves me 10 hours to run 56.5 miles

That averages out at 10.40 min/mile

So should i be running faster than this pace on my long runs ?

I feel like i can run quite a bit faster than that without too much problem at the moment and i have 4 months of training till the race

Any advice would be welcome

Thanks nick

zimpara 07 Mar 2015
In reply to misterb:

I'd forget the numbers.
Just run and run and run.

If you do the most you can. Then either you will fly it or will sleep well knowing you did everything you could.

Tip of the day- if you're appethetic about having a drink of water, you're dehydrated.
 DancingOnRock 07 Mar 2015
In reply to misterb: