UKC

Any Physics teachers? Please help!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 efrance24234 25 Mar 2015
Someone left our department last week and I have to cover a level 3 physics lesson. I thought it was a chemistry class so I put my name forward. Anyway I have no knowledge on the particular subject or resources.

Does anyone have any resources to teach the following.
2.1. Define attenuation and explain attenuation of X-rays by scatter, the photo-electric effect, Crompton scatter and pair production.

2.2. Describe how attenuation effects correlate with photon energy, transmission material and distance travelled.

2.3. Explain the significance of attenuation for conventional medical X-ray Imaging.

If you don't have resources but know of a good source of information please let me know.
I would really appreciate any help with this!
Elliot.
 kestrelspl 25 Mar 2015
In reply to efrance24234:

Not a teacher, but doing a physics PhD. This website has a pretty good run down of most of 2.1 and 2.2 http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/nuclear-engineering/22-01-introduction-to-ionizi... for scatter you might have more luck looking for X-ray diffraction as this would be the technical term for what I presume they're talking about.
 dale1968 25 Mar 2015
In reply to efrance24234: Very impressive if you can blag that subject, looks a tad difficult.......

elsewhere 25 Mar 2015
The whole basis of x-rays is attenuation or contrast between xray transparent/opaque tissues on the image.
The xray image is essential a shadow of what is opaque and semi-opaque.

Could you demo this with a shoebox illuminated by a point source of light (bulb, large pinhole) at one end with a hidden semi-transparent or opaque object in the box to cast a shadow on a translucent paper screen at the other end?

I need a Blue Peter badge and some sticky backed plastic.

PS wikipedia is usually very good for basic techy science stuff.
Post edited at 16:19
OP efrance24234 25 Mar 2015