UKC

Climbing research for college unit

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
SirCallum 17 Apr 2015
Hi there fellow climbers!

My name is Callum Shankland, I am a student at Perth College of the university of the highlands and islands studying sport coaching and development of sport at diploma level. For my research project i am investigating the psychological effects of climbing. This survey takes only a minute or two to complete and your input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/KH66W9V (Link to the survey)

Danm79 17 Apr 2015
In reply to SirCallum:

Done buddy.
needvert 17 Apr 2015
In reply to SirCallum:

So...I find this sort of thread to be surprisingly frequent. (Getting UKC to fill out surveys).

I presume each data collection request is separate to the last, and that the previous survey raw results may not always be made public?

It seems to me if UKC had a spot where raw survey data was dumped, it would give people doing survey's a much bigger information set to work with, and over a long time scale the ability to observe historical trends.

It wouldn't be all that hard to pull off, merely the agreement that each new survey request posts its raw data to some designated spot on UKC.

It could even evolve one step further, that we have a once a year the official grand UKC survey. Shortly after would be a state of the UKC community article, which be a simplish analysis of the survey results.
(Many other communities have similar things, so everyone gets an idea of trends and what everyone else is up to).

Just throwing out an idea.
 Rampikino 17 Apr 2015
In reply to SirCallum:

This survey does not investigate teh psychological effects of climbing.

It appears to skim over the NEGATIVE effects of some climbing experiences.

Have you considered at all the POSITIVE psychological effects of climbing?