UKC

Lower leg (calf/shin) pain

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Oli Greg 22 Apr 2015
Hi all, I'm after a bit of advice on some leg pain.

First a bit of background. Completed my first marathon (Hardmoors) last Novemeber and over the winter I havenet run as much as I had when training, maybe once or twice a week. I have signed upto the 3x3 ultra in October and I started training again around 4 weeks ago. Running for 2 days then a rest day, I comfortably ran half marathon distance at the weekend.

But I keep getting pain/discomfort in my calves. On every run I will have very tight calves for the first 3 miles and then on some runs I will feel ok, on others the calves get worse, especially when running uphills. On a couple of runs the pain has radiated from the back of the calves round to the front/inside of my legs (but not right on the shins).

I stretch and roller after each run, especially if it has been a longer run and I have paid special attention to stretching my calves and achillies, but this does not seem to help. I am using the same model shoes that I ran in last year without issue or discomfort.

does anyone have any advice or suggestions on what may be the issue and what I can do to return to pain free running. I'm a bit reluctant to have too much rest as I don't want be ill prepared for the 50mile hobble. Currently waiting for an appointment at the local physio too.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
 Dave the Rave 22 Apr 2015
In reply to BikeClimbWalk:
How are you stretching your calves? Are you doing bent knee calf stretches too?
OP Oli Greg 22 Apr 2015
In reply to Dave the Rave:
i dont know their actual names.
Standing with ball of my foot on the edge a a step and dropping one heel at a time. Hands against a wall with my back leg straight and bending my front leg, same position but bending my back leg too.
Cheers
Your calves have 2 main groups of muscle.