UKC

Training tips and advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mostin3 25 Apr 2015
Hi all,

I'm looking for some tips and advice on training for bouldering and sport climbing off someone in the know.

I've been climbing for about three years now. The first two of which just getting into it and the last year or so, reasonably seriously. I've never done any kind of training, apart from climbing itself.

I currently climb at about 7a sport and boulder at around V5, V6 dependant on venue. Ive just got back from font and managed an f6c+.

I'm looking to start training a bit, to try and push my grade, but don't really even know where to start. I do, very occasionally, do a session on the finger board at the local gym and I have a pull up bar at home that I use periodically.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Removed User 25 Apr 2015
In reply to Mostin3:
Lots of variables here, like what sort of shape are you already in, do you have any training style preference, what sort of time can you put in to it etc. I'm a big fan of calisthenics, because I can do it all at home, it seems to work for me, it's free, it's very difficult to seriously overload joints muscles etc, if you follow a programme, and it emulates what happens in many sports, especially climbing, in that you're moving your bodyweight around.
I'm currently using an app. called YAYOG, (you are your own gym) by Mark Lauren, the author of the book of the same name. It has structured routines on it that can be done in roughly 30 mins each session. If you prefer books then try 'Your Body Is Your Barbell' by BJ Gadour. Both of these also offer the opportunity to tailor a programme to your own needs, however, I steer clear of doing that because I've ended up biasing exercises towards what I think I should do, and I believe it's aggravated my tennis elbow. Build up slowly and listen to your body.
Post edited at 05:05
Removed User 25 Apr 2015
In reply to Mostin3: