UKC

beer as a sports drink...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Pete Houghton 05 May 2015
Yo,

We all know that there are few things as refreshing and restorative as a nice cold pint of beer after a long run (or any sufficiently-beastly outdoors activity...), as it is absolutely chock-full of calories, essential minerals, and electrolytes (it's what plants crave). But does anyone have any experience, advice, or dosage recommendations for using beer as a pre-workout sports drink?

I used to run home after work most nights last summer (I am a chef), about 10 km downhill, and I'd usually have a beer or two to clean kitchen with. But I've recently moved house, so tonight I'm facing a 10 km uphill journey home instead, and I fear the equation that I used last summer to calculate the correct alcoholic imbibation might be a little misaligned...

Basically, does anyone have any funny (or not) stories about running whilst pissed?

Cheers.
 angry pirate 05 May 2015
In reply to Pete Houghton:

Not running while drunk but a number of years ago I decided to nip into the pub at the end of the Stafford half marathon for a post-run Guinness (after all it's a great source of calories, hydration and iron) before I walked home. Needless to say, it wasn't the best warm down ever and I ended up having to be driven home by my sister.
 The Potato 05 May 2015

im really interested in this too, was thinking of having a half on an ultra marathon soon.

Ive definately had positive effects of a pint whilst cycling in the dales, did about 115 miles one day with lightweight camping gear, had a pint at lunch and another mid afternoon, felt good.
 AdrianC 05 May 2015