UKC

UK bouldering twitter/instagram account stealing photos

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
sbboy 07 May 2015

Hi,

Just joined this forum as it was recommended to me as a way of alerting UK climbers of a twitter account that is set up to simply steal and repost images.

The account is @boulderingUK on twitter and instagram. So is putting themselves forward as a spokesperson for UK bouldering.

I am a bumbling climber and photographer in Australia and recently started a photography project revolving around local climbers. I started posting a few of the fun shots on instagram to share with others in the sport, using #bouldering. I understand that anything online can be grabbed and shared with others

Then I noticed a couple appear on twitter, under the account of @boulderingUK. Then I noticed that every single photo I was putting up was going on their account. It was clear now they were setup to trawl instagram for #bouldering, grab every image (breaching copyright laws, so in effect stealing them) and reposting it under their twitter account, referencing the instagram account the took it from as the shooter (which is not necessarily the case.

So first contact I made was to tell them to ask first before taking photos, I would have been happy for them to share them and as it stood they were stealing them. Their response was to block me.

Then, they kept stealing photos. So I posted a statement on my instagram @fq_window saying I had chosen to stop posting all phots as they were all being stolen. Then they responded with a whole bunch of responses, all complete garbage. Which they promptly deleted. Only got a screengrab of one, before they deleted them.

In those responses, their main things were,

- > '...everything you post on to Instagram or Twitter is in the public domain therefore mine or anyone's to redistribute.'