UKC

Completely new and looking for guidance!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Emmalouise 08 May 2015
Hello!

I have never climbed before and have always wanted to try it. But I have no idea where to start!

I live in the Cotswolds, Cheltenham. I haven't been very successful on google.

Can anyone recommend just where to start? Is it best to find an indoor climbing centre? Are the Cotswolds/forest of dean somewhere that I am going to be able to climb?

Any books I could read to give me an idea, I am completely clueless!

Thanks 😊
 Jo Morrison 08 May 2015
In reply to Emmalouise:

Hi,

A really good place to start is the BMC (British Mountaineering Council) website, they have a huge amount of useful information.

It is totally up to you whether you want to start indoors or outdoors but indoor climbing is generally more accessible to a complete beginner.

If you want to start indoors there is a page on the BMC website: "How to start indoor climbing" https://www.thebmc.co.uk/how-to-start-indoor-climbing?s=1

If you want to climb outdoors it is probably best to join a club or find an instructor who can take you out. There is information on clubs here: https://www.thebmc.co.uk/why-join-a-club?s=2

I hope you find this information useful
Emmalouise 08 May 2015
In reply to Ugly Kid Jo:

Thank you, that's really helpful!
 SenzuBean 08 May 2015
In reply to Emmalouise: