UKC

Ideas for an electrical upgrade of the ice axe

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Industrial design student 18 May 2015
Hello,

I am an industrial design student and for a school assignment it is the aim to improve an ice axe with an electronic upgrade. The upgrade must involve a measurement of time, distance, uv strength or another unit. Some ideas I have:

- An easy height measurement tool integrated in the ice axe. With this height measurement tool you can read your current height, the average speed with wich you raise and the durance of the climb combined with the distance.

- An measurement tool for the hardness of the ice. This tool will tell you if the ice is strong enough for the axe

I am not an experienced climber so I don't know if one of these ideas seems like a good idea for ice climbers. My question for you climbers is:

Does one of these ideas seems like a good idea to you? And do you have a good idea yourself?

I hope to hear from you!
 petestack 18 May 2015
In reply to Industrial design student:

> - An easy height measurement tool integrated in the ice axe.

Far better off with separate tools!

> - An measurement tool for the hardness of the ice. This tool will tell you if the ice is strong enough for the axe

Don't confuse hardness with strength!

> Does one of these ideas seems like a good idea to you?

No.

> And do you have a good idea yourself?

No. Except (seriously!) think of something else entirely. Probably not involving ice axes...

humptydumpty 18 May 2015

Hi! I think it would be cool to have a FORCE measurement on your ice axe, so you can see how hard you swung it. You could probably do this with an accelerometer. It would be great, like at the fair where you have to punch the big red ball as hard as you can.
 mmmhumous 18 May 2015

Heated grips would be nice.
 SenzuBean 18 May 2015