UKC

Lost my climbing partner through relationship breakup, help!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UpWear 02 Jun 2015
Hey all,
This is my first post here. shame it has to be a mopey one. I've been enjoying climbing for 2+ years and started off indoor bouldering, training 3 times a week alone. When I met my partner last March, he really took to climbing and we ended up taking a few courses and progressing to outdoor trad. This has all been very enjoyable and quite unexpected. I never imagined I would move outdoors but I've developed a fierce addiction to all kinds of climbing. I have other friends that climb, but my partner and I have always been just that - climbing partners. Due to unforeseen circumstances we have decided to separate which alone in itself is very hurtful. But I have come to realise I will also be losing my regular climbing partner. I desperately want to get outdoors and climbing has always been my therapy, but it is a reminder of the fun we used to have together and I am having difficulty finding a new partner. I like the idea of being very close and able to trust a climbing partner and I believe I might find it hard to just go climbing with total strangers. Have any of you experienced this double whammy before? Are there any Bristol based climbing clubs of people that don't yet have regular partners? Thanks for your time.
 Babika 02 Jun 2015
In reply to UpWear:

Join a club
Climb with loads of different partners - old, young, male and female
Don't look for a relationship in your climbing partnership

This way you will avoid any feelings of rejection, desolation, mopiness or anything else when your partner moves, drops out, gets injured, has a baby or all the other things that make folk stop climbing sometimes
 Andy Morley 02 Jun 2015
In reply to UpWear: