UKC

Do you work as an ECA (or Paramedic?) interview advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kemics 21 Jun 2015
Next week I have a job interview coming up for an ECA role. Was wondering if anyone works as an ECA or works with (like paramedic ... or in emergency medicine) and has any advice or tips for interview? I meet all the personal specs, i work as an HCA currently, have a c1 license and volunteering experience. Just need to put it all together
Removed User 21 Jun 2015
In reply to Kemics:

Not a paramedic but an Neonatal Nurse. Therefore I'm involved in emergency situations most weeks.

Firstly it's all about teamwork even when things badly wrong. You must be a team player.

You'll need to develop a systematic approach to patient care. Knowledge, education and training. Research based practice and national protocols are the corner stones of my working life. Practice is continually evolving in response to research. You'll never know it all.

It's not all technical stuff you'll need to show you're a caring and compassionate person but with a bit inner steel. It's a job that needs fortitude and resilience otherwise it'll chew you up and spit you out.

Have you any life events that can illustrate you have the character to undertake. That would be helpful in an interview.

Good luck.
In reply to Kemics:

Write a list of the questions they will ask you,there are probably no more than ten. Then work out your answers,such that ypu don't waffle but clearly show that you tick the boxes they are looking for.
 JayPee630 22 Jun 2015
In reply to nickinscottishmountains:

Work out what you'll say when they ask you about what you'd do with a co-worker who does something inappropriate/against clinical procedure.

And the predictable your weakness/strength thing.

And give examples of situations where you've learnt a lesson/shown leadership/etc..
In reply to JayPee630:

Yup, that's 3 out of the 10!
 The Lemming 22 Jun 2015
In reply to Kemics: