UKC

Anyone else get damn scared leading?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mutl3y 27 Jun 2015
So I took someone climbing the other day. He wanted to go. Climbing, not bouldering. I don't climb much these days but I thought it wouldn't be too hard to take him up something, what with my bouldering going ok these days.

How wrong I was.

Took him up something on stanage I first led over ten years ago when I was a beginner. HS it was. Wall End Holly Tree Flake. The name isn't important though. What matters is it was "easy" and I jibbed like an idiot on it. He called up "I thought you were going to take me up something easy that you could do in trainers"? I called back "I think I'm going to have to abandon this one" and there ensued much down climbing and generally uninspiring faffdom.

It's all a whole lot harder than bouldering a few 6's or even 7's. At least when you fail on a 7 you don't have to gibber and faff.

Anyone similar to share?
ultrabumbly 27 Jun 2015
In reply to Mutl3y:

I can find low level thrutchyness a bit intimidating when I haven't climbed for a while but will be quite happy on stuff I might fall on that doesn't have ankle breaking ledges or the prospect of a rasping slide that would grate chunks of skin off. I sometimes get the willies soloing down diffs and so on too til my head pops back into its relaxed place. I am pretty much always terrified when stood up after topping out when I haven't climbed for a while and am sorting a belay out. I don't necessarily see these as bad things, more natural evolutionary traits that stopped my ancestors walking off of precipices and complacency is a lot more likely to get someone killed or hurt than some starting back timidity.
OP Mutl3y 27 Jun 2015
In reply to ultrabumbly:
Yeah that's it - the thrutchyness of it. I was fine later on a more "open" VS with normal moves, but this thing was all cracks and off width. The type that doesn't climb itself.