UKC

Tripods?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 kevin stephens 04 Jul 2015
How many of you use a tripod for climbing and mountain photography? I guess that in these days of low noise at high ISO and shake reduction tripods ma not be as essential as they once were? On the other hand good quality carbon fibre tripods seem more portable than ever?

Comments and advice welcome
 PPP 04 Jul 2015
In reply to kevin stephens:

I (sorta) do. I am by no means a professional photographer (some of pics are in my profile), but enjoy taking photos. As a result, I can't justify a full sized tripod.

The potential issue with conventional tripods is that they are either heavy or too light to feel stable in windy conditions. You can hang a bag or something else heavy (like this: http://media.digitalcameraworld.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/123/2013/04/Ca... ) which should not be a problem given there are usually rocks around and you could have some simple (shopping) bag in which you stuff some rocks.
Other problem is that the ground is usually uneven. Hence, legs of tripod must be adjustable as much as possible. Some stupid designs (like this: http://www.kreitzspace.org/IMG_0662.jpg ) which does not allow to adjust the angle of a separate leg.

My approach for half a dozen years was Manfrotto MP3-D01 (a decent review here: youtube.com/watch?v=b8QTNWOf6a0& ). It takes virtually no space/weight and easily supports bigger cameras (used it with up to 1kg cameras). However, it is really short and will not work on grass. Still good for rocky terrain and general travelling though. The best thing about it is that you can just keep it on all the time and deploy it in a second or so.