UKC

Beginner rope advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Andrew Kin 17 Jul 2015
Hi there. Just need some advice on a rope purchase please.

Currently starting to get outdoors doing some top roped climbing with my 8yr old daughter. We have been climbing indoors for 18mths but as a complete beginner outside I am still in the process of learning the skills needed to set up the topropes outdoors. Whilst I learn I would like to buy the required rope etc to carry this out.

I don't climb (Much) and as my daughter is only 8 she doesn't put much strain on any setup. We currently own a 40m single rope which is fine for most indoor walls but she is starting to need 50m+ for walls like Kendal indoors.

So, am I ok buying a 60m single rope and use our existing 40m rope for setting up a top rope? I just don't have the budget at the moment to buy a static rope and a single rope, the helmets plus all the other stuff (Slings, crabiners, bouldering pad etc) we need at the moment.
 GridNorth 17 Jul 2015
In reply to Andrew Kinnersley:

You don't say where you are located but a 40 metre rope will be enough for setting up top ropes at most crags where someone with your limited experience can, practically speaking, set up a top rope e.g. grit or Symonds Yat etc. Or do you really mean "bottom rope". In some respects this can be trickier to set up than a top rope in order to do it correctly and will of course require at least double (plus some) the length of the pitch.

Looking at the broader picture you really need to climb yourself in order to gain experience to make both yourself and your daughter safe. I read with some concern your sentence about your daughter not putting much strain on the set up for example. You should always make a belay as strong as is possible and in a top roping scenario there is absolutely no excuse to do otherwise. I have climbed many times with my son and it is one of the most rewarding and satisfying experiences imaginable.