UKC

Les Gaillands and other Cham crags, 60m rope needed?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Oujmik 17 Jul 2015
Packing for a trip to Cham - mostly just a walking holiday rather than a climbing trip but will be taking the gear and doing a few days of very easy rock-based stuff. We've already got a lightish 50m rope which we'll be taking for pitches and abs on very easy alpine rock routes but we thought maybe we'd do a bit of cragging too, probably at Les Gaillands and I was wondering if the 50m would allow us to cover a decent range of 4/5s or if we really need the 60m to be able to lower off. I've been studying the guidebook but as a sport climbing noob I'm struggling to make sense of where you can lower off and/or walk off. Many routes seem to expire halfway up a cliff with only a 'belay' and not an 'abseil point' marked on the topo - what does this mean?

I know I could take the 60 and ditch the 50 but I'm loath to do this as the 60 is also fatter and weighs quite a bit more to carry in the mountains.

Sorry for stupid questions, translating trad and scrambling into alpine and sport is too much for my tiny mind.
 rocksol 17 Jul 2015
In reply to Oujmik:

There,s loads of shorter easy routes on Gaillands. The belays are also lowers.
In reply to Oujmik:
from my memory of Les Gaillands you'l have no trouble doing most of the routes with a 50m. The belays all have two rings or staple bolts from what I can remember. We had a 60m and did a lot of the routes and never came close to using the whole rope except the routes which went the full length of the lower cliff.
Post edited at 11:27
myrockface 17 Jul 2015
Marked as a belay point because it's so crowded there are ladders you can go down to decrease congestion, many people still abseil but the ladders are easily accessible from most routes.