UKC

You're going to the alps in 4 weeks with no fitness

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Camm 07 Aug 2015
So if you had 4 weeks to train before a trip to the alps and you don't have much fitness, what would be your strategy?
 Nick Alcock 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm:
I'd go to Cornwall instead.
Post edited at 16:43
 Hyphin 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm:

I'd get my ass away from the front of a computer and go climb a hill.
 Rob Exile Ward 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm:

Never done it any other way. Got to give the hills a chance.
 Nick Alcock 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Rob Exile Ward:

Ok. I went 2 weeks after an appendectomy so maybe that was a bit extreme. I didn't get much done!
OP Camm 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Nick Alcock:
I was expecting that kind of reply lol, Most of the trips to the alps I have had, have been at this fitness level. Except for one trip, where I had been doing a bit of running for 2 months prior and it was so much more enjoyable.

Nick Alcock 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm:

Yes, it's not very enjoyable when you struggle to walk to Montenvers, let alone getting on a route!
 alexm198 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm:

Depends how long you're going to the alps for, and where you're going. If you're going for long enough, you can get pretty fit during your stay. If you're in Chamonix, who even needs fitness when you have telepheriques?
 abr1966 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm:

Bar National....get hammered....hit on every german or french girl possible...great memories...poor success!
In reply to Camm:

Not much you can do in a month that's worth it. Risk of injury far outweighs any benefits.

Go for a few runs. Lose half a stone*, and another half a stone from your pack. Spend your evenings looking in guidebooks for routes with a gentle walk in?

* Assuming you can afford to do that, obviously.
 BnB 07 Aug 2015
In reply to Camm: