UKC

Things to teach a stupid beginner

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 zimpara 18 Sep 2015

Before you start climbing and letting your new second figure it out:

How to sling a 120 sling around your body (the amount of times I've seen it wrapped 3 times around a karabiner one handed to a gear loop only to slide off to the deck is astounding) and also my fault for not teaching them.

How to clip the QD karabiner that the gear is clipped in onto a gear loop (rather than the opposite end leading to a 1metre extended 3.5 friend scrapping harshly all the way up. Again, my fault.

How to use a cams triggers for getting it out. Everyone's rationalè goes awol first time on rock and just pulling things whilst trying to hang on is expected. Again, my fault. Get the ab line out boys!

Any others? As I'm still learning.
Post edited at 17:36
 Morty 18 Sep 2015
In reply to zimpara:

How to clip gear into an actual gear loop rather than a leg loop.
 FactorXXX 18 Sep 2015
In reply to zimpara:

Most important one, a beginner is only as stupid as the person teaching him...
 SenzuBean 18 Sep 2015
In reply to zimpara:

How to calmly test if the wire will come out with a gentle upwards pull, and then calmly use the nut key to take it out if otherwise - as opposed to vigorously tugging on it if it was excalibur.

How to properly clean your shoes - you will slip if you have muddy/wet shoes, and you won't trust your smears because you _can't_ trust wet smears.

Rock terminology. Once I had a second and I asked if they'd "gone around the arete and got your foot in the horizontal break?" but they didn't know what either was. Eventually settled for "gone round the corner and found the horizontal crack" - which in their head became "FIND A CRACK!! AAHHHHH!!! HERE'S A CRACK!!! WHAT DO I DO WITH THE CRACK". Ended up lowering them off.
 Morty 18 Sep 2015
In reply to FactorXXX:

> Most important one, a beginner is only as stupid as the person teaching him...