UKC

wifi signal boosting

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Bellie 18 Sep 2015
Appealing to the UKC techies.

I'm trying to get a decent wifi signal to a static caravan about 25m from the house. I have stuck a range extender in the entrance of the house, but it does not seem to have much success in increasing the signal above the actual router. I'm toying between trying to add a router in the static to act as a bridge, or seeing if an antenna booster might work on the van.

Anyone had experience using a router as a bridge or an antenna. I'm guessing the actual antennas on laptops aren't that sophisticated.
Jim C 18 Sep 2015
In reply to Bellie:
I'm not a techie , but had a similar problem when using my iPad in the garden at the rear of the house where I got no signal , one day I saw a router in a charity shop, and I bought it for a pound, got some cable , linked them and stuck the second one to the rear, and that solved the problem .

No technical knowledge needed ( just as well as I don't have any)

Edit. By they way, I have no idea why that worked, I would be happy to know if it was boosting the signal, or acting as an antenna , bridge or whatever .
Post edited at 20:47
 The Lemming 18 Sep 2015
In reply to Bellie:

Does the caravan have electricity, preferably cables running from the house to the caravan?

If so you could try some. Never used them myself
http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-LINK-TL-WPA4220KIT-Powerline-Configuration-Smart...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-k...

My garden is considerably smaller and I use a wifi range extender. As you say it does not throw a signal much further than the router. This is the one I have
http://www.amazon.co.uk/ZyXEL-WRE2205-300Mbps-Wireless-Extender/dp/B00HNZAR...
Bellie 18 Sep 2015
In reply to Bellie: