UKC

Problems related to Climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Bhumika Soam 01 Oct 2015
Hi Guys,

I am an Industrial designer, studying climbing and related problems.
I would love to know what problems do you face, in terms of gear, or physical limitations you face while climbing.
It would also help to know what you think is missing, something you feel the need of but isn't available or manufactured yet!

Thank you so much guys! Looking forward to your replies.

Cheers,
Bhoom
 humptydumpty 01 Oct 2015
In reply to Bhumika Soam:
I'd like a robo hand exoskeleton to protect my tendons and increase my crimp power.
Post edited at 21:25
abseil 01 Oct 2015

> I would love to know what problems do you face....

Recurring bouts of cowardice, which strangely coincide with a very strong desire to be [a] on flat ground and [b] in a pub or café.
 Kevster 01 Oct 2015

Rope protectors you can pass when on abseil.
 zimpara 01 Oct 2015

The perfect length of rope.
 Rob Exile Ward 01 Oct 2015
In reply to Bhumika Soam: You've got the wrong end of the stick mate. The point of climbing IS the problems - if you solved them all there wouldn't be any point.

johncook 01 Oct 2015
In reply to Bhumika Soam: A gravity level adjuster box would be nice!

kwoods 01 Oct 2015
In reply to Rob Exile Ward:

> You've got the wrong end of the stick mate. The point of climbing IS the problems - if you solved them all there wouldn't be any point.

And to add to this, I should say that the advancements to be made to climbing gear really are small. Paradigm-shifting gear comes along once in a while (dropped pick axes, crampons, cams.. bouldering mats?) but that doesn't happen often. Otherwise it's minor adjustments to existing gear.

That said, a total waterproof with breathability would be lovely, the jacket I spent £200 on, soaked through on me last weekend.
 SenzuBean 01 Oct 2015
Okay I've got one.
First read this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synthetic_setae