UKC

Open vs sewn quickdraw slings

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Andy Johnson 02 Oct 2015

I've recently come back to climbing after a 15 year break. I've been climbing indoors for about 8 months, and am now looking at getting some outdoor trad experience. To that end, I'm putting a rack together.

My old rack had 8 quickdraws with DMM solid-gate krabs. I dumped the old slings, but because the krabs are in good condition I bought some new 11mm dyneema open slings and Petzl "string" retainers. Now I'm wondering if open slings were the right choice. The strings cover most of the sling as it passes over the karabiner, and I can now appreciate just how easy it might be to end-up with the retainer holding all the weight in the event of a fall (like this: http://www.ukclimbing.com/news/item.php?id=46912).

So, am I better-off returning the open slings and getting sewn slings instead? Seems like I have 4 options:

1. Use the open slings and strings and be extra careful.

2. Use washers/bands instead of the strings, which give better visibility of the sling position but don't completely solve the problem.

3. Buy some sewn slings, which does seem to make the problem go away.

4. Forget the krabs I have and buy a couple of sets of wiregate quickdraws (expensive).

(I don't fancy using open slings without retainers, although I know some do.)

Maybe I'm over-thinking this, but I'd appreciate some advice as I keep bouncing between options.

Thanks!
Post edited at 16:16
 CurlyStevo 02 Oct 2015
In reply to andyjohnson0:

I'm gradually replacing mine with closed slings now, but I'm still using my open ones until they wear out, they just need a little closer inspection when racking / in use.
 john spence 02 Oct 2015

I doubt if you will be able to return the open slings, usually a "no returns" policy with this type of gear.

The cost of 8 dogbones is worth the peace of mind IMO.
 Steve Clegg 02 Oct 2015

Hi Andy