UKC

Shoe recommendations

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Harry Cook 23 Oct 2015
Hi, I'm just starting out door climbing properly and am starting to get my gear together. What shoes would people recommend for outdoor and indoor climbing
Thanks Harry
 Greasy Prusiks 23 Oct 2015
In reply to h.cook2000:

Hi Harry
Getting the best shoe for you is mostly down to fit. Head to a climbing shop and try as many as you can, looking out for a fit that's snug but not overly tight with no gap at the back around your heel. Other than that I'd recommend going for a reasonably flat shoe as you're unlikely to be tackling the kind of route they suit for a little while. If you're new to climbing your first shoes will wear fast so maybe don't break the bank just yet!

Greasy
 GrahamD 23 Oct 2015
In reply to Greasy Prusiks:

Absolutely right. It's all about fit.
Rigid Raider 23 Oct 2015
In reply to h.cook2000:

Don't Decathlon do climbing shoes? What are they like?
 Greasy Prusiks 23 Oct 2015
In reply to Rigid Raider:

I've got a pair. Very cheap and pretty decent. Not the stickiest though.
 kingborris 23 Oct 2015
In reply to Greasy Prusiks:

The 35 quid green ones are OK, but I find they stretch a lot. Go for a reasonably tight pair. They'll loosen up after just a few sessions. They are also quite soft soled so ideal for smearing. Not so great on small edges though.
 dr_botnik 24 Oct 2015
In reply to h.cook2000:

I would not recommend decathalon, go to a shop that has experienced staff, ideally one with a climbing wall so you can actually test them out. Somewhere like the foundry climbing wall in Sheffield is ideal as it has a large range and experienced staff who will offer sound advice, and you can even test the shoes out before you commit to the purchase!
I often see people in the shop there buying their second pair after going somewhere like decathalon and getting sold some overly tight, technical shoe that they just don't enjoy climbing in.