UKC

What should a session on a 45 deg board look like?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JLS 31 Oct 2015
Ok, the with objective "getting stronger" for sport routes, as well as other things, I'm planning to spend 1 hour a week on/under a Beastmaker 45deg system board (after a good warm-up). What should I do? My max boulder grade is probably around V5/6C. I'm not sure what ratio of efforts to rest I should be looking at. How many efforts in an hour? Is it best to go for big power moves or keep it static? Should I be working very hard short sequences or longer problems to the top of the board. Should I also work the mirror of any problems I'm on or does left and right strength imbalance make this impractical.

Thanks in advance for any informative replies?
 AJM 31 Oct 2015
In reply to JLS:

I'm no expert but my 0.02:
- Efforts to rest - good rests between problems. Effort:rest 1:many (4? 5?)
- power vs static - depends on your weakness. But not many people climb static on a 45.
- long vs short - again, depends on your weakness. Do you fail on single moves on sport routes or on pulling the xth hard move in a row (where, if you're training it on a board, x is less than about 10)?
- personally I'd work mirrors if I had a mirror board.
OP JLS 31 Oct 2015
In reply to AJM:

Cheers. Looking at some weightlifting sites would suggest that for climbing, where increasing the bulk of muscle is less important than improving recruitment and neuro systems, I should be doing looking to move fast and explosively with about 5 minutes rest between efforts. So I think I'll be looking at doing around 10 big efforts in the hour. I'd been doing some campus ladders and had guessed 5 minutes rest between them would be about correct so that seems to have been born out.

Anyone else got an insight on this sort of stuff?

cha1n 31 Oct 2015
In reply to JLS: