UKC

Shoes too tight?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
grabrail 04 Nov 2015
Hi

Just starting out on climbing, had one session so far.

I ordered some Axiom Evolve shoes from an online climbing store as they were advertised as a good all round shoe.

Their sizing guide advised me to get a size 9, as I am a normal size 8.

They have turned up today and I tried them on, they seem really tight, but as I have no experience, I was wondering how tight should they realistically be? They seem to squash my foot up and it hurts a bit down the side.

Is this normal and I just need to get used to wearing a different style of shoe than I am used to, or do these sound too tight, and I should send back for the next size up?

Thanks in advance.

Grabrail
 Jon Stewart 04 Nov 2015
In reply to grabrail:

Some people climbing in the high grades recommend having very tight shoes. Ignore them!

You need shoes that are comfortable, so you can enjoy climbing. You don't need expensive shoes until you're experienced and have good footwork. Before that point you are completely wasting your money on anything more expensive than a half-decent all-round shoe, so I reckon those evolvs look like a good choice.

You always need to try on shoes before you buy. Some makes will fit your feet, others won't. The sizing varies a lot between brands, and even between different shoes of the same brand. Once you know what shoe fits in what size, you can order online (or better, get them second hand on here after someone like you buys them too tight and can't wear them - happens all the time, I never pay more than 40 quid for shoes!). Some people are cheap bastards who try them on in shops and then order online, which is just plain rude.