UKC

Regional Supermarkets

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The New NickB 21 Nov 2015
Being a Lancastrian I'm very familiar with the rather splendid Booths, I lived in London for a bit, so I am familiar with Budgens and of course Waitrose is a bit sparse on the ground in these parts.

So tell me about the 'local' supermarkets in your region!
 marsbar 22 Nov 2015
In reply to The New NickB:

TFC. It's like being on holiday, so many yummy things. http://www.tfcsupermarkets.com
 wintertree 22 Nov 2015

Lots of "Bargain Booze" and "Boozebusters" in the north east...
 yorkshireman 22 Nov 2015
When I grew up in Hull, it was always 'Jacksons'. Nothing special, just a fairly low-mid market smallish supermarket chain - light blue logo/colours. I even worked in one for a while when I was a student - stacking shelves and trying to stop the local low-lifes from stealing lighter fluid. I'm not sure if they're still going or have been bought out by somebody else.

I spent 15 years down south after that, Oxford then London so got familiar with Waitrose and Budgens as well (I tried to get a Waitrose delivery to my parents back home the other day - there isn't one within 70 miles of where they live!).

Now I've lived in France for 4 years I'm getting used to a whole new pecking order in the supermarkets. Our local national chain is Super U, which seem fine although I went to Monoprix in Grenoble yesterday and was surprised to find they sell (very good, lots of range and plenty of organic, free range) food. They're a bit like a cross between BHS and M&S, with a hidden food section downstairs.

Locally its now the Huit £ 8 - a local store in our village which is an offshoot of Carrefour I think. A bit of a lie because it's never open 8 til 8 - has random French hours instead that change depending on the tourist season too.
Post edited at 10:20
 nastyned 22 Nov 2015