UKC

Noise cancelling headphones

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 07 Dec 2015
I've never tried any before however I am thinking of some for Crimbo.

I very much would appreciate advice on what to look for and any recommendations of headphones to buy.

I just want to listen to music while walking the dog. Do I go in ear or over ear headphones?

Cheers muchly
 Timmd 07 Dec 2015
In reply to The Lemming:
Pardon?

I find my Dad's Bose ones are very snug and all encompassing feeling in how they cancel out outside noise, it's quite pleasant feeling.
Post edited at 19:32
 Philip 07 Dec 2015
In reply to The Lemming:

> I've never tried any before however I am thinking of some for Crimbo.

> I very much would appreciate advice on what to look for and any recommendations of headphones to buy.

> I just want to listen to music while walking the dog. Do I go in ear or over ear headphones?

> Cheers muchly

No use for that. They only really work for constant low frequency background noise.

I have a pair of JVC noise-cancelling and use them when flying. At night they help remove a little of the engine noise so I can fall asleep with music or a film without having the volume too high. I imagine during the day on flights or in economy there variable background noise of other people would make the noise cancelling useless. Not sure any value if out walking.

But Bluetooth headphones are much nicer for walking with music than having a nagging wire run down your shirt.
m0unt41n 07 Dec 2015
In reply to The Lemming:

Have tried various types over the years when doing regular long haul business flights.

Only ones that totally shut out airplane noise are ones that completely cover the ear, not just rest on top.
Of these the Bose were the best which I now use.