UKC

Wearing a tie at work...yes or no...?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 1234None 08 Dec 2015
After being reprimanded and threatened with disciplinary action for removing my tie at work today, I wonder what the general consensus is regarding how people see this...

I'm a teacher in an international school. I frequently take it off when it's too hot or when I'm doing a lab-based practical, then forget to put it back on. I don't consider it a high priority item and when I'm dashing around it does sometimes just get overlooked.

Does a tie matter? If so, why? I'm struggling to come up with reasons, especially for this sort of work, so interested if anyone thinks ties have any sort of positive impact. Never really pondered it in that much detail until I worked for my current boss, who seems to think it's the be all and end all! I should add that I always dress smartly for work in proper shoes, smart trousers and a formal shirt, so it's not like I'm turning up in shorts and flip flops.
 Babika 08 Dec 2015
In reply to 1234None:

Wearing a tie isn't important.

Conforming to workplace norms usually is even if you don't particularly agree with them. Just makes things run smoother. Go with it.

My female boss once told me my skirts were inappropriate. I couldn't be bothered to argue - just bought different stuff. Life is too short.
Rigid Raider 08 Dec 2015
In reply to 1234None:

I have the same problem; the dress code for men in my office remains shirt and tie. I haven't worn a tie on a sales trip to Africa for about 15 years but still have to put one on at home. Last summer in hot weather I left it off and got a snotty remark from my boss.

For arty media types I think a tie looks wrong but I still believe teachers ought to wear them to add a touch or formality to their dress.
 gd303uk 08 Dec 2015
In reply to 1234None:
if somebody asked me to electrocute a stranger , i might do so , if the person asking is wearing a tie and lab coat