UKC

Electric bikes - any recommendations?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Steve27 10 Dec 2015
I'm thinking of buying the other half an electric bike and was wondering if anyone has any recommendations or views? The model I had my eyes on was the carerra crossfire-e.

I've no experience with e bikes so any views gratefully received.

Thanks
 james wardle 10 Dec 2015
In reply to Steve27:

You can probably do better for the money

possibly the best womens electric bike on the market ( i bought one for my wife a few years ago its amazing.)

http://www.cytronex.com/bikes/quick_5_feminine.html

is £1400 not so much more than the "cheeper" heavy halfords bike.

go and test ride both and make your mind up.

OP Steve27 10 Dec 2015
In reply to james wardle:

Thanks for the tip, I'd looked at a few but I'd missed that one - I'll take a look
 Co1in H 10 Dec 2015
In reply to Steve27:
From my experience they are a realy good compromise for general cycling and commuting. They look to have some good deals at bikehaus in Gatley near Stockport and they've started selling on "that website" recently.

james wardle 10 Dec 2015
In reply to Steve27:

on thing to remember about any electric bike is they don't really like being off road. All Hub motors don't like being bumped about too much. so if you are thinking of more of road than gravel paths. then an electric bike probably is not the right choice even if it looks like a mountain bike.
OP Steve27 10 Dec 2015
In reply to Co1in H:

"That website"?
OP Steve27 10 Dec 2015

That's fine, it'll be used daily as a commuter on road and paved cycle paths
 Dauphin 10 Dec 2015

Except.

http://www.stealthelectricbikes.com/stealth-b-52-bomber/

There's a few fat bikes with motors about these days.

D

> on thing to remember about any electric bike is they don't really like being off road.