UKC

New family car - views please

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 BusyLizzie 15 Dec 2015
I have been driving a Ford Fiesta for the last 18 years or so, since we first had a car. Now on the third such, and they are jolly good little cars. The current one, named Spotty for various reasons, is ten years old and starting to feel elderly.

So I need a new family car; my kids are large teenagers, my husband and son fold up uncomplainingly, but really I'd like a car in which tall blokes are comfortable. I do most of the family driving but my very tall husband does some driving so needs to be able to get his knees under the steering wheel. Currently we manage holiday clobber by using a top-box which looks a bit daft (Spotty feels embarrassed).

So - thoughts please on a car that is large enough for a family of four with outdoor clobber, reasonably economical, nothing too big and flashy.

Yes, I know, it sounds like a girly question. It's actually a question from an incredibly busy lawyer with too many caring responsibilities and too little time to do the research so why not ask a friend. So please indulge me and tell me about cars you've enjoyed.

Thank you so much!

L
In reply to BusyLizzie:
Could there *be* a better time to say: Skoda Octavia Estate? UKC's perennial favourite and my um just got one and really likes it.

Alternatively the focus estate seems to get good rep.
Post edited at 20:45
In reply to BusyLizzie:

How tall is very tall?

T.
Who was 6'4" when measured a wee while ago.
 LastBoyScout 15 Dec 2015
In reply to Alasdair Fulton:

I really miss my Focus estate - cavernous boot for the size of the car.
OP BusyLizzie 15 Dec 2015
In reply to Pursued by a bear:

Very tall is indeed 6'4" ... perhaps that is a popular size for tall men. (My husband once went into Marks and Spencers looking for trousers with a 34" inside leg and was told "no sir, 32" is the most popular size").

I am not 6'4". I am 5'8".
 Skyfall 15 Dec 2015