UKC

headlamp buying

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
vasandra 16 Dec 2015
Hey everyone,
I’m a beginner, but I’m buying some equipment and gear now. Winter climbing is not for me, so I’m waiting for summer. I’m puzzled with the headlamp now. Anyway, it is more convenient than flashlight. I do not want to buy law-quality headlamp. What brands are more preferred among mountain climbers?
Thanks
 Wingnut 16 Dec 2015
In reply to vasandra:

Not a recommendation for a brand as such, but try to avoid getting one where the batteries are round the back on the end of a cable. I've had several of these from various manufacturers, and they've invariably ended up developing a loose connection.
 alasdair19 16 Dec 2015
In reply to vasandra:

petzl or black Diamond are the t op brands. Alpkit is the best value. frankly modern headlamps are amazing.
 StuDoig 17 Dec 2015
In reply to vasandra:

You won't go far wrong with Petzl or BD as folk above have said. LED Lensor torches are also good quality. I'm not a fan of the Alpkit torches - the quality seems lower and from my group of friends, we've seen a much higher failure rate than amongst "name" brands. Alpkit do replace very quickly and almost without question if you do have a problem though.

I don't agree with avoiding separate battery packs - for climbing / mountaineering I've never only ever had these and never once had a problem with a connector failing, even with pretty harsh regular use.

Be wary of power / duration quotes - they are normally extremely misleading. The standard most companies apply allows them to keep the clock running in their test until the light output has dropped to 10% of it's starting value (e.g. 200lumens for 4 hrs would only be running at 20 lumens by the time you reached 4 hrs.). If you search individual torches then you'll find reviews where the light output over time is measured independently.