UKC

getting over the lead fear

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 phil_91 22 Dec 2015
Right, ive been climbing solid for 3 years, mix of bouldering and sport, indoor and out but i have a really annoying fear of falling on lead which is really holding me back, i'm quite comfortable to climb 6c/6c+ or try a 7a on a good day on top rope but as soon as it comes to leading ill drop back to a 5+ / 6a and if i get to a hold i'm not comfortable with ill either down climb a bit or take a 'controlled fall' its the whole pinging off the wall ive got the fear of.

Any ideas/ tips to get my confidence up or is it a matter of growing a pair?
 MischaHY 22 Dec 2015
In reply to photophil:
> is it a matter of growing a pair?

Short answer, yes. Stop top roping, and stop shouting 'take'. Always go for the next move even when you know you're going to fall off. It'll sort itself out soon enough.
Post edited at 01:34
 jsmcfarland 22 Dec 2015
In reply to photophil:

start with 'falls' on toprope, then fall off with a tiny bit of slack/fall without saying take, then start falling off on lead, with the bolt above you, at waist height etc, and take gradually bigger falls. You have to have alot of trust in your belayer (who you haven't mentioned), is there anything there that could be addressed?

Dave Macleods' book 9 out of 10 climbers has a very good section on dealing with fear.
 AlanLittle 22 Dec 2015
In reply to photophil:

Never toprope anything. Start doing some systematic falling practice; maybe do a course if you & your belayer aren't sure about how to work into this gradually, give soft catches etc.