UKC

El Niño and crappy weather

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Trevers 03 Jan 2016
It seems fairly clear that all this crappy weather is being driven by the current El Niño weather system.

According to NASA, this hasn't yet peaked, and could surpass the 1997-98 El Niño:
http://www.cbsnews.com/news/the-worst-of-el-nino-is-still-to-come/

I'm fairly new to winter climbing and generally thinking about long term weather. So, from people's experience, is there any hope that the weather will settle down out any point and we might eventually get some decent winter conditions? Or is it time to just write this winter off, count myself fortunate that I've lost nothing more than some good climbing days and hope that Spring brings some clear days and sunshine?

How did the winter of 1997-98 pan out in the UK?
 Roberttaylor 03 Jan 2016
In reply to Trevers:

The geese foretold this, months ago.
OP Trevers 03 Jan 2016
In reply to Roberttaylor:

I'm not a goose unfortunately
 Andy Nisbet 03 Jan 2016
In reply to Trevers:

I would say it's not a good sign for the winter (sea temperatures being warmer and the Jetstream being stronger) but I haven't given up yet. There is cold air over Siberia and at present the Jetstream is holding it away. But if the Jetstream uses its power to change direction and heads further south, then we'll get that cold continental air and the warm sea won't matter.
Andy Bateman 03 Jan 2016
In reply to Trevers: