UKC

Running children and Rings at Karma

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RobertHepburn 11 Jan 2016
Hi All,

I went to the new Karma bouldering wall in Tunbridge Wells yesterday, and was really impressed by the wall - lots of interesting problems, proper top outs, and a great looking comp wall. It was also stacked with kids and new comers, which was great to see. However, there were a couple of safety issues:

1. Kids running round at high speed, often straight under climbers. I must have asked 10 kids not to run/be careful in one session. I am 95kg, and I would hate to think what would happen if I landed on a 5 year old from the top of the wall.

2. People wearing rings. I think I said to 5 people about them getting trapped in holds, and all looked a bit surprised.

I know some will think I am being a "busy-body", but I just don't want people to get hurt, and feel that it is partly my responsibility, especially as I have been climbing for about 15 years.

I did pass my concerns on to a member of staff, and I could see they there were really busy, and I guess all walls suffer from similar problems. The wall did have a full induction process, but I don't think it has influenced behaviour enough? I am interested in the best ideas for minimising these two problems?

Maybe video a 100kg weight falling onto a wooden palette from the top of a wall, and then show it to people as part of the induction?

Any other thoughts?

Cheers,

Robert

Wsdconst 11 Jan 2016
In reply to RobertHepburn:

I think you're right to mention potentially harmful things to people, as long as you don't do it in a school prefect way. No one wants they're session cut short because they've just squashed a kid or someone's finger has been pulled off. Everyone should appreciate a bit of friendly advice when starting out. P.s 100kg dropped on a water melon might be effective.
 Babika 11 Jan 2016

The ring thing is quite important.