UKC

Simple Stealth Camper Conversion

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Flavio 25 Jan 2016
Calling to all dirtbaggers out there!

I am planning to spend winter researching, buying and converting a vehicle to a basic camper. My budget and the fact that I am a new UK driver with no NCB (but held a licence for 8 years) means my choice has narrowed down to a Fiat Doblo Cargo or similar without losing too much space or money.

I have seen many stealth campers around crags owning standard vw caddy, vauxhall combi, transit connect, fiat doblo, citroen berlingo etc. If you are one of these people, what have you insured your van as??? Which insurer to you use?

I am not interested in a full blown conversion to qualify for re-classification with the DVLA but a DIY panel van conversion with insulation, a leisure battery, fixed single bed w storage underneath and a side cabinet to use as table for cooking and for storage. Would a standard van insurance for private/leisure use be enough for the above specs?? (I am happy with speed restrictions for vans over 2000kg)

Thanks!
 crayefish 25 Jan 2016
In reply to FlavioL1989:

I don't know about your specific case but for modified vehicles I have found Adrian Flux to be the best. Literally not one single part of my race truck is even remotely standard (think homemade Bowler) and yet I can get it fully comp for under 250 quid including breakdown cover (or at least I did when I was in the UK).

Try calling them and just explain the type of van/camper you 'have' for a quote.

Last time I insured I had to submit a full page document detailing all the mods I had done that year (on top of the 3 pages they already had) and yet it made my renewal cheaper for some strange reason! No idea why but I didn't complain. I guess they assume people who spend that much time on their vehicle will most likely be careful with it!
 jkarran 26 Jan 2016
In reply to FlavioL1989: