UKC

Frankenjura: Hardcore German climbing worth training for

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 girlclimber 11 Feb 2016
I went to Frankenjura last summer and finally got round to writing a post about it on my blog. Just sharing a link here in case anyone is planning to go and is interested in what it's like!

I was a beginner outdoor climber, so it was quite hardcore for me.

http://girlclimber.com/climbing-2/frankenjura-german-climbing/

Have you ever been? What are your thoughts?
cb294 11 Feb 2016
In reply to Vertical Souls:

Glad you liked it, it is my home region!

CB
 AlanLittle 11 Feb 2016
In reply to Vertical Souls:

I'm impressed. Frankenjura for your first time outdoors? Hardcore. On my first trip there I was climbing around 6b, and found my first "IV+" warm up terrifying. I generally a set of nuts and a few slings up to about 6b or so. Above that most routes are at least reasonably bolted, ones done this century even to something resembling normal sport climbing standards elsewhere.

I absolutely love the place. I'm an expat Brit living in Munich, so it's about two to three hours drive away. There are closer climbing areas but they're nowhere near as good.

> Many crags are hidden inside the thick Bavarian forests, and therefore often difficult to find or approach

+1. I've needed to use a GPS to find a crag that turned out to be 50 metres away, and on another occasion completely failed to find the crag where I was supposed to be meeting up with some visitors from England.

Since your thread title mentions training: if you're planning to visit and likely to be doing any of the steep pocket stuff 6a and above, then throw a few sets of two finger pocket work on a system board or a finger board into your programme for a few weeks beforehand.
OP girlclimber 12 Feb 2016
In reply to AlanLittle: