UKC

Bishop and Joshua Tree any good for beginners?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Adrien 17 Feb 2016
Hi,

Three friends and I are going to California in May, mostly for hiking and sightseeing. I would like to include a bit of bouldering as well and Bishop and Joshua Tree could easily be included in our itinerary. However while I climb at a relatively good level (up to 7A) my friends are almost total beginners; I've taken them sport climbing a couple of times and we did some bouldering in Ailefroide last year. The problem was that there were very few easy problems, and those were usually boring. What's it like in Bishop and Joshua Tree? Anything good that would match yellow problems in Font and be higher than 6 feet?
 Stig 17 Feb 2016
In reply to Adrien:
Loads of easier problems near Bishop, from what I can remember- going back a few years sadly. Also some easy sport climbing. Awesome coffee shops/bakeries in Bishop. Easily one of the most stunning places I've been, so well worth a visit.
 seankenny 17 Feb 2016
In reply to Adrien:

Josh might be a tad... warm.
 Dave Garnett 17 Feb 2016
In reply to Adrien:
Trashcan Rock at J Tree is roadside and has easy problems more than 6 feet high (and is more attractive than the name implies!).

Trashcan Rock

Sorry, looks like you meant highish bouldering not roped climbing. That said, if you climb 7A you could solo a few things and trail a rope for them.

I'm no expert on the bouldering but there's plenty from what I've seen. As Sean pointed out it might be warm unless you start early.
Post edited at 17:54
 seankenny 17 Feb 2016
In reply to Dave Garnett:

There is always a place near Joshua Tree that is very high up and has lots of granite bouldering - I think it's called the Tramway but no idea how good it is. As ever, Supertopo is probably your best bet...

https://www.mountainproject.com/v/the-tramway/105991060

RyanOsborne 17 Feb 2016
In reply to Adrien: