UKC

Women's Participation in Mountaineering Holidays

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 Adele Doran 18 Feb 2016
premier post photo
FEMALE CLIMBERS PLEASE TAKE PART IN THIS SURVEY

I am a PhD student at Sheffield Hallam University studying women’s participation in climbing and mountaineering holidays and courses. I am specifically looking at why women (or why they don't) go on climbing and mountaineering holidays and courses, and what benefits they gain from going. The survey was launched at the Women's Climbing Symposium and has also been promoted by WomenClimb, Mountain Training, Rock & Sun and Jagged Globe.

Only 1/3 of recreational climbers and mountaineers in the UK are women. Climbing and mountaineering holidays and courses provide women with an opportunity to develop their climbing skills and gain confidence. Climbing holidays are particularly popular with women, however, women continue to be the minority on mountaineering holidays (27%) and they currently only account for 19% of Mountain Training's award holders.

If you are a woman who enjoys climbing and has considered, or participated in a climbing or mountaineering holiday or course (staying away from home for at least one night), please take the time to complete this survey. All responses will be anonymous. https://docs.google.com/a/my.shu.ac.uk/forms/d/1l88O2dVwpEjaGa-oBf_a2G2XXgA...

Mountaineering organisations and holiday providers are keen to understand the female market. They want to develop opportunities for women and address some of the issues that are preventing women from climbing and mountaineering holidays and courses. The results from this survey will be shared with industry partners to help create courses and holidays that are more tailored to female climbers, so a few minutes now will bring benefits in years to come!
 Heike 18 Feb 2016
In reply to Adele Doran: