UKC

Top roping hostility. Why?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
MikeMarcus 24 Feb 2016
Hi all.

I'm not trolling, I'm trying to understand something. So if you're inclined to attack me based on the fact that I'm a beginner and you're not, kindly move on to another topic please.

That said, I've been climbing indoors all winter and now it's approaching summer, my mind is turning to outdoors. But after spending a couple of hours this morning reading the way novice posters get treated here when they ask about top roping Stanage Edge, etc, I'm actually considering just sticking to indoor climbing.

So I have two questions:

1) Are the posts that I've been reading representative of the attitudes of people at the crag?
2) What's actually wrong with top roping?

For reference, these are the threads which have caused me to question whether I want to top rope outdoors:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=248598
http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=625624
http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=624961
 Mountain Llama 24 Feb 2016
In reply to MikeMarcus:

Hi Mike

Why not join a club and serve an apprenticeship as a second and then move into leading?

Just a suggestion but you will learn a great deal more and progress quicker.

HTH Davey
In reply to MikeMarcus:

> 2) What's actually wrong with top roping?

It is boring compared with top roping indoors where everything is set up in advance because the ratio of time spent messing about to time spent climbing is all wrong. You've got to get to the top, mess about with gear/slings/ropes to build a belay, set up the rope you want to climb on, get back down to the bottom and only then you get to climb a fairly short route at which point you get to take everything back down again.

If you aren't into trad then bouldering would be more fun than top-roping.
 Hat Dude 24 Feb 2016
In reply to MikeMarcus: