UKC

Stage Lighting

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Bit of a long shot, but I am hoping someone on here might be a stage lighting anorak able to give me a few tips...

I work at a school and we are doing a production of We Will Rock You the Musical. I am a Music teacher with a background in sound recording but have limited knowledge of stage lighting, but being the 'techie' member of the department have been put in charge of the lighting too.

We have a Strand 200 Lighting desk:

http://www.theatrecrafts.com/archive/documents/200series_console_manual.pdf

I can create scenes on the lighting desk however want to move to a computer controlled system but try and integrate the lighting desk into this. I was thinking of using the following product to do this:

http://www.enttec.com/index.php?main_menu=Products&pn=70304

The idea being the the DMX output of the lighting desk goes into the input of the DMX USB Pro box. I then use piece of computer software to read the incoming DMX signal (the 'look' that I am creating) and save these values in the software. When the show is played back, the desk is then redundant and the computer outputs all DMX values to the dimmers.

I have absolutely no idea if this will work or not, or if lighting software can be used in this way. The software that I have been playing around with so far is this:

http://lightkeyapp.com/en/

Many thanks!

David
 jkarran 26 Feb 2016
In reply to David Kirsfelds:

Can you not record a sequence direct to a drive/memory in the desk?

Sorry, can't help with specifics, haven't touched a lighting desk in nearly 20 years.
jk
 deepsoup 26 Feb 2016
> Bit of a long shot, but I am hoping someone on here might be a stage lighting anorak able to give me a few tips...

I believe there are a couple who post on here. I once was, but I'm even more out of date that jkarran. The last lighting desk I operated was a Strand Geminii 2 (even more antiquated than your 200 series).