UKC

Hangboarding on a tight schedule?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jack McKechnie 16 Mar 2016
My exams are coming up in 7 weeks now (Ahh!) so I will have to be studying more than normal. I usually climb 2x a week and train 3x a week at home (I know I should climb more but I can't get down to the wall more than that as I can't drive). I usually do one of the beastmaker app workouts, frenchies or one arm negatives, a core workout and then some injury prevention exercises. This all in all takes about two and a and half hours in total, including a thorough warm up. The problem is that I don't have time to do all of this 3x a week, although it would be 4x because I can't get to the wall during the week because I'm studying. What I am wondering is should I do the beastmaker app workout and not finish it or should I find an alternative shorter hang board workout? Which is more beneficial? If I would be better off doing a shorter workout could anyone point me in the direction of one? For a bit of climbing background I am 5ft 7in at 130lb, I'm 16 and am mainly a boulderer. I have climbed font 7C+ (Indoors so take that as you want) and in terms of routes have on sighted 7B+ (I only climb routes for competitions so I haven't tried any harder but they felt pretty easy in terms of moves, endurance was the only problem). Any help would be appreciated , and I know I don't need to train, my life doesn't depend on it but I enjoy training as it gives me a chance to relax and think about the day. Thanks very much !
 Fraser 16 Mar 2016
In reply to Jack McKechnie:

My tuppence worth: concentrate on your exams. Worry about climbing performance improvement thereafter.
Tomtom 17 Mar 2016

You're clearly a strong kid, so I'm not gonna nag on about training so hard and the long term damage you could be doing to yourself.